Science Saturday banner

Science Saturday 2014

Purchase Tickets
Schedule of Activities
Learning Stations
Map Make a Gift

Saturday, May 3, 2014
Registration opens at 10:00 a.m.
Activities from 10:30 a.m.–3:00 p.m.

The Rockefeller University
1230 York Avenue at 66th Street
New York, NY 10065

Tickets are limited and must be
purchased in advance. Participants
must be age 6 or older. Children
ages 6-13 must be accompanied
by an adult.

For more information, e-mail:
Or contact:
Ms. Amy Harris
Director, Parents & Science Initiative

The Rockefeller University gratefully
acknowledges the following Science
Saturday supporters:

Lead Corporate Sponsor:

Additional support is also provided by
Sidney R. Knafel and Londa Weisman,
Martin and Sarah Leibowitz, the Lubin Family Foundation, the Steinman Family Foundation, and

Special thanks to FreshDirect and
Olympus Scientific Solutions Americas

Rockefeller’s inaugural Science Saturday will be filled with fascinating talks, demonstrations, and hands-on activities designed to engage and inspire children and their families. You’ll be able to observe insects and other animals, learn how your senses work, visit state-of-the-art research facilities, and meet world-class scientists. Our featured speaker, Daniel Kronauer, will give two presentations about ants and their intriguing social behavior—one geared for young children and the other for more advanced students. Rockefeller scientists will be on hand throughout the day to guide and educate families at more than 20 learning stations.

Richard Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.
The Rockefeller University

Parents & Science
Faculty Advisor

Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D.
Alfred E. Mirsky Professor
Harold and Margaret Milliken Hatch
Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology

Parents & Science Leadership


Daniella Lipper Coules
Talbott Simonds

Steering Committee

Rebecca Anikstein
John Bernstein
Charles W. Caulkins
Karen de Saint Phalle
Blair Pillsbury Enders
Wendy Ettinger
Kathy Heinzelman
Tania Neild, Ph.D.
Ilona Nemeth
Marean Pompidou
Courtney Smith Rae
Loli Echavarria Roosevelt
Kimberly Kravis Schulhof
Roxy Zajac

Scientific Advisory Council

Evelyn Attia, M.D.
BJ Casey, Ph.D.
Myron Hofer, M.D.
Ilene Sackler Lefcourt
Margaret McCarthy, Ph.D.
Richard Nisbett, Ph.D.
Michael Thompson, Ph.D.

Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedInInstagram Icon Rockefeller University intranet