Parents & Science benefit lecture and dinner

Join us at The Rockefeller University for a fascinating evening that will bring together world-class scientists, renowned child health care experts, and parents and grandparents interested in the most recent scientific advances revolutionizing our understanding of child and adolescent health.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

5:30 p.m. Cocktail Reception
6:30 p.m. “Speech and the Social Brain: Insights into How Children Learn”
  Lecture by Patricia Kuhl, Ph.D.
  Bezos Family Foundation Endowed Chair for Early Childhood Learning
Co-Director, University of Washington Institute for Learning and Brain Sciences
8:00 p.m. Dinner

This year’s benefit will feature internationally recognized childhood expert Patricia Kuhl.  Dr. Kuhl is revolutionizing the scientific understanding of how children acquire language and develop the many other skills that will provide a foundation for learning throughout life. Her work has played a major role in demonstrating how early exposure to language alters the brain. It has implications for critical periods in development, for bilingual education and reading readiness, and for developmental disabilities involving language.

Learn more about this year's "Celebrating Science" Event

Learn more about Patricia Kuhl's research

For more information, please contact Amy Harris, Director, Parents & Science Initiative, at or (212) 327-8689.

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D.
The Rockefeller University

Parents & Science
Faculty Advisor

Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D.
Alfred E. Mirsky Professor
Harold and Margaret Milliken Hatch
Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology

Parents & Science Leadership


Geoffrey W. Smith

Steering Committee

John Bernstein
Daniella Lipper Coules
Blair Pillsbury Enders
Wendy Ettinger
Kathy Heinzelman
Nathalie Kaplan
Courtney O'Malley
Marean Pompidou
Courtney Smith Rae
Kimberly Kravis Schulhof
Talbott Simonds

Scientific Advisory Council

Evelyn Attia, M.D.
BJ Casey, Ph.D.
Myron Hofer, M.D.
Ilene Sackler Lefcourt
Margaret McCarthy, Ph.D.
Richard Nisbett, Ph.D.
Michael Thompson, Ph.D.

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube